Ceredigion Sports Awards were held on 07 July 2023 to celebrate sporting talent in the county.

The awards, which are arranged by Ceredigion Sports Council, in partnership with Ceredigion Actif, bring together all that is good about sport in Ceredigion and provide a platform to celebrate sporting successes and the people that make them happen.

The Ceredigion Sports Awards were held at Ceredigion County Council offices in Penmorfa, and a total of 58 awards were presented this year, across 7 different categories. These included 22 Talented Junior Awards, given to young athletes and sports people in Ceredigion who show promise, and 30 International Awards, given to sports people who became international athletes between 2020 and 2023. 

The Ceredigion Sports Council looks to help all sports clubs from grassroots level to the pinnacle of achievement as international athletes, as well as recognising the role of Young Ambassadors within the school system, and the volunteers and coaches who often work behind the scenes. 

The awards and winners are:

  • Bronze Young Ambassador of the Year 2023: Ceri Williams, Daniel Jones, Isaac Humphries & Jac Lewis – Ysgol Gynradd Llannon
  • Young Ambassador of the Year 2023: Ben Jaques
  • Volunteer of the Year 2023: Alisha Aydogmus
  • Disability Sport Volunteer of the Year Award 2023: Dean James & Eiry Thomas
  • Unsung Hero Award 2023: Leo & Jane O’Connor
  • Coach of the Year 2023: Gareth Ebenezer

International Awards 2023:

Talented Junior Awards 2023:

Osian Roberts – Athletics

Eva Davies – Athletics

Jean Davies – Lawn Bowls

Sara Jones – Athletics

Milwen Lewis – Lawn Bowls

Cari Morgan-Williams – Mountain Biking

Cynyr MacRae – Kayaking

Osian Jones – Bowls

Deio Thomas – Kayaking

Eiri O'Connor – Kayaking

Hanna Griffiths – Kayaking

Gruffydd Phillips Williams – Kayaking

Leri Jones-Kenny – Slalom Kayaking

Aadvik Khare – Cricket

Cari Jones – Slalom Kayaking

Sonny Baron – Cricket

Brynmor Thomas – Darts

Bronwen Thomas – Sailing

Elonwy Thomas – Darts

Steffan Williams – Sailing

Llinos Thomas – Darts

Llyr Jones – Judo

Sion Davies – Darts

Carys Pugh Jones – Football

Dion Regan – Golf

Katie Whiteway – Football

Leia Vobe – Gymnastics

Sonny Forbes-Tinsley – Football

Órla O’Regan – Hockey

Tomos Ifan Mitchell – Fly Fishing

Ruadhán O’Regan – Hockey

Freya Pritchard – Obstacle Racing

Annie Thomas – Dressage & Equestrian

Will Evans – Autograss Racing

Harry Thomas – Equestrian

Cian Jones – Rugby

Casi Gregson – Football

Max Rodda-Lodder – Rugby

Kelsey Thomas – Football

Owain Thomas – Rugby

Fflur Mitchell – Fly Fishing

Rhun Davies – Rugby

Amelia Williams – Running

Teifi Thomas – Rugby

Steffan Evans – Touch Rugby


Alfie Rodda-Lodder – Touch Rugby


Cadi-Lois Davies – Rugby


Kristy Hopkins – Rugby


Steffan Jac Jones – Rugby


Lowri Richards – Indoor Cycling


Fin Tarling – Cycling


Josh Tarling – Cycling


Councillor Catrin M. S Davies, Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Customer Services, said: “The Sports Awards was a great event with so many Ceredigion residents being recognised for their sporting achievements. It was an inspiring afternoon and illustrated the Council’s commitment to supporting sporting activities and opportunities across Ceredigion."

Sport and being physically active has a positive influence on young and old and is very much a part of daily life in Ceredigion. The Sports Council would like to congratulate all who have achieved, no matter what the sport or level.